Happy New Year!

Welcome 2013!  Of course it is that time of year when we all starting resolving to be healthier, exercise more. and eat better after gorging ourselves on cookies and alcohol through the holidays.  Like most people the New Year for me is a time to reflect on the good and bad of the previous year and hope for a better next year.  We all just want to be better versions of ourselves and I am no different.

We also generally fully expect to fail at our attempts to be better versions of ourselves and by the time Lent rolled around last year I realized my attempts at eating well had already been pretty dismal.  So this non-practicing Catholic took the Lenten season as an opportunity to re-start and I gave up meat for Lent.  It was not an ethical or environmental decision but an attempt to force myself to pay more attention to the food I ate and plan out my meals better.  I blogged about the decision as well in an entry called The Vegetarian Experiment.  What I didn’t anticipate was that after the 40 days came and went I had so much more energy, and was so thoroughly enjoying new foods and recipes that I would continue to live vegetarian.

I want to keep it going this year and continue to try new foods and recipes along the way.  My wonderfully supportive family gave me some awesome Christmas presents of much needed kitchen items and cookbooks.  Seeing as I’ve been off work this week I’ve had plenty of time to get an early start and so far I’ve busted out my new immersion blender and made two soups from the Forks Over Knives Cookbook, the curried Squash and Apple soup (sans apple since I didn’t have any on hand) and the Lotsa Vegetable Chowder.

With new tools in hand and New Year motivation at its peak I’ve decided the best way to be successful and consistent  is to set specific goals.  This year’s Vegetarian Experiment will be a Julie & Julia  inspired cooking project.  However, instead of cooking my way through one single cookbook, I intend to cook at least one new recipe a week from any of them.  The goal is simple, and exactly what the original intent of becoming vegetarian was: to live healthier through eating better, try new foods and recipes, and do more of what I love most…COOK!  Check back for weekly updates, now back to my lucky New Year dinner  preparations.

“The food you eat can be either the safest and most powerful form of medicine or the slowest form of poison.”
Dr. Ann Wigmore

9 thoughts on “Happy New Year!

  1. Pingback: Week 5: An Early End To The Long Cold Winter? | Dandelion Wishes

  2. Pingback: Week 15: Feeding Omnivores and Thai Delights | Dandelion Wishes

  3. Pingback: Week 31: Hits and Misses in the Plant Strong Kitchen | Dandelion Wishes

  4. Pingback: Week 41: Let Them Eat Vegan! | Dandelion Wishes

  5. Pingback: Week 52: Something Old and Something New | Dandelion Wishes

  6. Pingback: A Goal Without A Plan Is Just A Wish | Dandelion Wishes

  7. Pingback: Week 1: Happy New Year 2014! | Dandelion Wishes

  8. Pingback: Engine 2 Challenge | Dandelion Wishes

  9. Pingback: Making It Work | Dandelion Wishes

Leave a Reply

