Week 1: Lucky Dinners and New Plant Based Foods

The New Year falling mid-week through me off a bit but it was good to ease into the work week and have a weekend approach quickly.  Week 1 of my Vegetarian Recipe Challenge (I need a name for this project of mine but am horrible at titles) was a great success.  Being off work for the holiday last week, and with all the motivations of new year and fresh starts, I may have gone a bit overboard (and still have leftovers to prove it!).  Instead of one new recipe from one of my cookbooks I made two full main courses that encompassed six recipes from two cookbooks.  It was not as complicated as it sounds but now that I’m back to work it will likely scale back a bit.  As an added bonus these meals happened to involve a lot of new foods for me and I’ve found some new staples.

The first meal was chosen because I saw a lot of my favorite plant based bloggers posting black eyed pea recipes.  Being a Yankee myself, New Years Day was typically pork and sauerkraut (which I didn’t like even when I did eat meat).  Some research found that black eyed peas and collard greens are thought to bring good luck for a prosperous new year.  Searching through my cookbooks The Happy Herbivore had the perfect meal for a prosperous new year.

Recipes Made (4):  Creole Black-Eyed Peas; Creole Roasted Red Pepper Sauce; Spicy Greens; Cornbread
New Foods Tried (2): Black-Eyed Peas; Collard Greens

060

All of the recipes will be tried again.  I added some store bought vegan chorizo to the greens and would have preferred them without.  The Roasted Red Pepper Sauce will be very versatile and I think I’ll spice it up next time I make it.

The next meal I chose to make was Millet Stuffed Chard Rolls with Roasted Red Pepper Sauce [Recipes (2)] from Forks Over Knives.  Millet and Swiss Chard were both new foods for me, bringing the new food count up to 4 for the week.  The Forks Over Knives Red Pepper Sauce had Tofu in it to make it a bit creamier compared to the Happy Herbivore version.  I actually preferred the Happy Herbivore recipe and after the first night ate the stuffed greens without sauce they were so good; millet is a new favorite grain.  I ate these for dinner with balsamic Brussels sprouts on the side.

003 - Copy

Now to get ready for week 2’s Eggplant Extravaganza!

One thought on “Week 1: Lucky Dinners and New Plant Based Foods

  1. Pingback: Week 1: Happy New Year 2014! | Dandelion Wishes

Leave a Reply

