Week 2: Eggplant Extravaganza

This past week was the first full week back at work and I am very grateful to have prepared all my meals over the weekend making the transition back just a little bit easier.  It also allowed me to stick with my resolution of not buying lunch at work and spending money on overpriced cafeteria food that is not remotely satisfying.

Two weeks in to 2013 and this little cooking project I have come to realize that Vegetarian cookbooks do not have a lot of pictures; I imagine it’s cost prohibitive.  I’ve also realized that the old adage, you eat with your eyes first, is absolutely true.  I find myself missing all those gorgeous pictures.  So, it shouldn’t be a surprise that this weeks main course, Eggplant Rollatini, pick was one of the recipes that had a featured picture in Forks Over Knives.  I also wanted to make a soup for lunches.  After perusing all my cookbooks, I kept going back to the Spicy Peanut and Eggplant Soup in Veganomicon.

The Eggplant Rolatini was absolutely delicious.  I actually ate every last bit of it throughout the week, which is rare for me there is usually one sad portion that I just can’t bring myself to finish.  Instead of the typical cheese filled dish, this version is stuffed with seasoned millet (my new favorite grain) and spinach.   I topped it off with the Forks Over Knives Tomato Sauce, adding some crushed red pepper to the sauce for some spice.

Forks Over Knives Eggplant Rollatini and Tomato Sauce

Lunch was great too, though I need to start halving recipes because half of it is in the freezer.  The soup has a tomato base; the spicy comes from the addition of a chili pepper and the peanut from adding peanut butter after it’s finished.  I am a big texture person when it comes to my food and am not a big fan of stewed eggplant so I blended the soup to make a lovely, creamy soup sans any cream.  I was worried the peanut butter would be overpowering and though it is the first thing you notice, as you continue to eat the subtle spice and tomato flavors all come together for a warm, complex soup. Since I blended the soup and left it somewhat thick I think the leftovers could also be turned into a full meal by adding some chickpeas and serving over rice as a saucy dish with Thai flavors.

Spicy Peanut and Eggplant Soup

There were no new foods this week but a great week of new recipes for sure.
New Recipes Made This Week: 3

New Recipe Tally 2013: 9

9 thoughts on “Week 2: Eggplant Extravaganza

  1. All of the Happy Herbivore cookbooks have a lot of pictures. Her latest, Happy Herbivore Abroad, is especially gorgeous and has a picture of every recipe!

    • Very true. My first Happy Herbivore book was Everyday Happy Herbivore but I bought it for the kindle and now realize that I personally need tangible print books when it comes to cookbooks; I’m not sure how the kindle version stacks up to the print. I got the other two right around Christmas when they were on sale and plan on delving into them this weekend though I did make the hummus from HHA today. It is layed out very nicely.

      Forks Over Knives and Veganomicon both have only small sections with pictures of selected recipes; that said I’m really liking everything I’ve tried so far from the FOK cookbook.

  2. Pingback: Week 3: Food Clemency | Dandelion Wishes

  3. Pingback: Week 15: Feeding Omnivores and Thai Delights | Dandelion Wishes

  4. Pingback: Week 21: Stretching the Pantry | Dandelion Wishes

  5. Pingback: What I’ve Learned – Small Substitutions and Simple Changes | Dandelion Wishes

  6. Pingback: Week 45: Forks Over Knives | Dandelion Wishes

  7. Pingback: Making It Work | Dandelion Wishes

Leave a Reply

