Week 4: Spicy Foods for Chilly Days

It is apparently winter…while I was aware of this, Mother Nature felt it necessary to make a point this week and a great freeze descended upon us here on the East Coast.  The bitter cold made me want soup and since I had already decided to make Cheater Pad Thai from Happy Herbivore Abroad as part of my dinner plans I thought I’d stick with a Thai soup to carry the abroad theme through the week.

Lunch this week was Thai Noodle Soup from Happy Herbivore Abroad with a side of Spicy Peanut Kale salad from Kathy Patalsky’s blog.  The kale salad is not a new recipe to me but rather one I make all the time.  It is a great side dish and I’ve also doubled the sauce, added other vegetables and made it into a lo mein for a full meal.

There were a few mishaps in the kitchen this week but in the end the food was still delicious so the comedy was worth it.  First off, I had never worked with Asian vermicelli noodles, which are the noodle in the noodle soup.  I found them no problem in the International aisle of Wegmans.  If you’ve never used them either allow me to warn you they are very long noodles that when packaged (at least the package I bought) are wound around themselves making it near impossible to use a portion of the package.  After a bit of a battle resulting in some very fine shards of noodle landing everywhere in my kitchen, I ultimately managed to separate out what I needed for my recipe using scissors to cut the uncooked noodles.

Mishap number two was that both this and the Pad Thai recipe call for red chili sauce and I accidentally purchased red chili paste.  It wasn’t until the color of my soup seemed quite red compared to Lindsay’s picture in the book that I realized this.  For future reference I went to the New Herbies group on facebook for guidance and have received some great sauce recommendations.  In the end the soup was delicious, albeit very spicy (I think the chili paste is the culprit); with temperatures below freezing I didn’t mind the spice at all.

Thai Noodle Soup HHA p 29The Cheater Pad Thai was also a bit spicy but so good I’ll be making it again this week!  It’s a Happy Herbivore fan favorite and the sauce recipe can actually be found on Lindsay’s blog.  The full recipe is included in Happy Herbivore Abroad.  I added vegetables to mine  to make it a vegetable pad Thai.

Cheater Pad Thai HHA p178I rounded out my meals this week with some Indian inspired dishes.  An old favorite of mine, Chickpea Tikka Masala from Everyday Happy Herbivore served with a side of Potato Samosa-Stuffed Chard from the Forks Over Knives Cookbook.  The stuffed chard was a new recipe for me and paired well with the Coriander Chutney recommended by the authors.  I did miss the yummy fried dough of a simosa but these were still delicious and my omnivore coworkers enjoyed the extras!

Potato Simosa-Stuffed Chard FoK p200

New Recipes Made This Week: 4

New Recipe Tally 2013: 17

3 thoughts on “Week 4: Spicy Foods for Chilly Days

  1. Pingback: Week 5: An Early End To The Long Cold Winter? | Dandelion Wishes

  2. Pingback: Week 47: Happy Herbivore | Dandelion Wishes

  3. Pingback: A Goal Without A Plan Is Just A Wish | Dandelion Wishes

Leave a Reply

