Week 5: An Early End To The Long Cold Winter?

Happy Groundhog day, It’s finally February!  Am I the only one who felt I  was trapped in January for an eternity.  I am pleased to report to those superstitious folk among us that Punxsutawney Phil has predicted an early spring.  Though personally, I consider this “holiday” nothing more than a reminder of how much I like the movie and an excuse to watch it again.

This past week was a cut back version of the new recipe challenge since the end of the month also meant the end of my budget cycle.  In addition to the new recipe challenge, I’ve also set myself a goal of a winter financial fast and am focusing on where my money goes and how much I could save if I was more conscientious of my spending.  Meal planning, only going to the grocery store once a week, and finding ways to use what I have on hand have been big money savers so far.

There were no new main course recipes this week.  I ended up making Cheater Pad Thai again because I loved it so much last week and filled up the week with some other dishes I could throw together with minimal need to purchase additional ingredients.  For lunch I went with a new to me soup recipe, Baked Potato & Greens Soup with Potato-Wedge Croutons from Veganomicon.  This soup was quite easy to put together and packed flavor from additions like fennel, sage, and thyme; it also used up the Kale I had left in the fridge.  The consistency was not quite creamy, not quite brothy with chunks of potatoes throughout.  I’ll admit this wasn’t my favorite of the soups I’ve made so far but I was also not a huge potato soup fan to begin with.

Baked Potato Soup Veganomicon p146

I supplemented my lunches with side salads and decided to give this creamy dressing a try.  It’s packed full of fresh flavor and as a bonus is only about 10 calories!

Finally, for a sweet treat, I made Banana Bread for my coworkers.  I had multiple recipes to choose from but Dreena Burton’s recipe kept popping up on my twitter feed, pinterest, and facebook and I couldn’t resist the yummy looking loaf.  It is absolutely delicious!

Banana Bread-Dreena BurtonConsidering the number of recipes I pin on pinterest and all the bloggers I follow.  I’ve decided these should count in the new recipe challenge tally too.  This is also my justification for wasting time on pinterest 😉

New Recipes Made This Week: 3

New Recipe Tally 2013: 20

“Well, what if there is no tomorrow? There wasn’t one today” Phil Connors, Groundhog Day

Leave a Reply

