Week 10: Spring Ahead

I’m a bit late with this week’s post.  This weekend came with the best weather we’ve had in months; 50-60 degrees with bright sun kept me outside on long dog walks and sprucing up the flower beds to rid the remnants of fall and winter and prepare for the arrival of flowers and fresh homegrown food.  OK, I admit it, I’m getting a bit ahead of myself, but I’d gladly give up an hour sleep to have dusk extend later in the day.

But I digress, we’re supposed to be talking food here!  I’ve had a couple of Italian themed weeks and wanted to change up the flavor profile this past week.  My first choice was Forks Over Knives Cookbook’s Curried Millet Cakes.  I have actually been eyeing this recipe for a few weeks now since it is one of the recipes that there is a picture of in the cookbook (and it looks wonderful of course!) and since millet is my new best friend who I have somehow not met until recently but cannot live without.

When deciding what to pair with my millet cakes, a cauliflower puree came to mind.  After searching my cookbooks I settled on Happy Herbivore Abroad Garlic Mashed Potatoes.  The secret to these mashed potatoes is that they are mostly cauliflower; there is only one potato per full head of cauliflower.  As the name suggests, roasted garlic adds a warm, comforting flavor to this mash. A great pairing if I do say so myself.  I added a repeat recipe, Forks Over Knives Coriander Chutney to top off the millet cakes and round out the meal.

All in all an excellent dinner.  I would warn the cakes are not exactly cake-like; there is no flower or binder so they bake up somewhat soft but the flavors are wonderful.

Image

Finally, this week’s sweet treat was Happy Herbivore Cookbook Black Bean Brownies.  Not the prettiest to photograph but very nice to eat.  My bananas were quite ripe so you definitely do get the chocolate banana flavor in these but there were adjustments to use less ripe bananas and add some additional sugar for sweetness that may tone down the banana flavor.  This recipe can also be found on the Happy Herbivore website.

Image

New Recipes Made This Week: 3

New Recipe Tally 2013: 38

Leave a Reply

