Week 15: Feeding Omnivores and Thai Delights

Spring seems to be getting the best of me but I’ve managed to stick to the challenge!  This past week I had work done on the house and since I recently started a new job and could not take off work my parents were gracious enough to come and stay with me while the contractor completed the job.  Not wanting to test a new recipe on others without first giving it my own stamp of approval, I decided to go with something I was certain they would like and made Eggplant Rollatini from the Forks Over Knives cookbook.

My parents are very much creatures of habit but were good sports and loved the new to them dish!.  My mother is gluten intolerant and the millet stuffing of the rollatini was her first try of millet, which is another gluten free grain.

That said the challenge is new recipes so time to move on…This week I made Quick and Easy Thai Vegetable Stew from the Forks Over Knives Cookbook for my lunches.  The dish was very quick and easy so no complaints there.  The sauce of coconut milk, Thai chili paste, ginger and cilantro really give authentic flavors and make this a very satisfying lunch on the go.

I was more organized than usual last weekend and made my grains on Saturday (brown rice for lunches and the millet for the rollatini) so I could prep a little faster on Sunday.  This means no pretty plated picture, but the more realistic assembly line.

Thai Veg Stew (FoK)

003

New Recipes Made This Week: 1

New Recipe Tally 2013: 50

Leave a Reply

