Week 16: Fast Food Vegan Style

This past week has been a blur.  One of the fur babies was in the hospital over last weekend and required medicine every six hours, which was luckily feasible with my 10 minute commute but it certainly felt like a lot of running around all week.  I didn’t have the time or energy to look through cookbooks, or go grocery shopping for that matter.

Happy Herbivore is usually my go-to for fast and simple with common ingredients.  Whenever Lindsay Nixon asks her Herbie fans what their favorite recipe is Cheater Pad Thai is generally the winner.   I love fresh vegetables in my Pad Thai so there is some pre-planning involved and time to slice/prepare (frozen just isn’t the same), so that was out for this week.  My friend Nikki at The Pink Ticket posted about one of her go-to’s this week, another Happy Herbivore recipe, Chickpea Tikka Masala from Everyday Happy Herbivore.  I’ve made this one many times as well, but the sauce calls for silken tofu, which is another ingredient that is not a staple for me and requires a trip to the store.

Assessing what I had on hand that could be easily thrown together I made my go-to favorite Happy Herbivore Chickpea Tacos.  While I’d agree with the majority vote that Cheater Pad Thai is the yummiest, it’s the chickpea tacos that I’ve made the most in the year plus that I’ve been plant based.  I usually make burritos (they hold more and aren’t as messy;) I cook rice with zest and juice of one lime added during cooking and assemble my burrito with additions of avocado, tomato, green onion, jalapeno and corn; top with some cilantro and you have a quick, easy and satisfying meal.  That said, four months in I very nearly missed a week since I’ve made these so many times I don’t even have to think while preparing.

Just today, I finally made it to the grocery store.  Taking inspiration from a beautiful pin I saw on Pinterest earlier in the week I had a basket full of fresh vegetables and made this Layered Ratatouille.  I didn’t follow the recipe precisely (what fun would that be).  I omitted the oil and substituted fresh basil for the thyme.  Not quite as pretty as the pinned recipe but beautiful nonetheless (and delicious).  I manage to keep my goal of at least one new recipe every week after all!

090

What’s your go-to meal when life gets busy?

New Recipes Made This Week: 1

New Recipe Tally 2013: 51

One thought on “Week 16: Fast Food Vegan Style

Leave a Reply

