Week 18: Comfort Food Spring Edition

Cinco de Mayo is here already! Of course I don’t plan ahead so my themed post won’t find you until next week.  I’ve been seeing all the veggieful Mexican inspired recipes the past few weeks and found a good one in Forks Over Knives that meets the challenge, and marries my love of Mexican flavors with my new found love of grilling.  You’ll have to wait for next week for that though.

This week’s post will be short and sweet as it is Sunday night and my to-do list for the weekend is not even half complete.  I was taking inspiration from Pinterest again this week.  First I made this Spring Vegetable Pot Pie.  I made some adjustments to suit my cravings, adding more asparagus (and throwing peas and corn in there as well) and leaving out the tofu.  I also used fresh herbs such as rosemary, thyme and sage and left out the mustard.  This smelled delicious in the oven and did not disappoint for dinner this week either.  I baked mine in a square pan so my pictures are not quite as pin-worthy as the original but I will be making this again for sure.

Pinterest Pot Pie

Also, from Pinterest, this week I made Kathy Patalsky’s Blueberry Muffins.  I love Happy Herbivore single blueberry muffins (and really anything blueberry).  Kathy’s version adds candied ginger, which intrigued me.  It also has very little sugar compared to most recipes.  I enjoyed this muffin but not quite as much as the Happy Herbivore muffin.  I think it’s the texture of the oat flour that throws me off; it can be a bit gummy in my opinion.  I will probably end up combining these recipes by adding some candied ginger, and almonds, while cutting back the sweeteners in the Happy Herbivore muffin but keeping her whole-wheat pastry flour.

Kathy Patalsky Blueberry Muffin

Since I had some blueberries left I treated myself to pancakes for breakfast.  Specifically, Veganomicon Blueberry Corn Pancakes.  The corn comes from cornmeal (in addition to regular flour).  Leaving out the oil was no problem at all.  These were a nice change from my usual blueberry pancake; the cornmeal adds a subtle but distinct flavor and some texture.

Veganomicon Blueberry Corncakes

New Recipes Made This Week: 3

New Recipe Tally 2013: 56

Leave a Reply

