Week 19: Vegan Cinco de Mayo

If you’re just wandering onto this site you’re probably thinking I’m a week late with my Cinco de Mayo post.  Since I tend to cook at the beginning of the week and blog at the end of each week I end up a bit off in my posts unless I actually plan well enough to meal plan, shop and prep in advance of a holiday (not likely to be happening any time soon).

I was really excited to find some recipes in Forks Over Knives that were perfect for a Mexican themed meal AND involved grilling rather than standing over a stove.  This past week I made Not-So-Fat Guacamole, Fresh Tomato Salsa, and Veggie Fajitas, which utilized a recipe for Grilled Portobello Mushrooms.  If I haven’t convinced you to buy the Forks Over Knives Cookbook yet, this meal should; I absolutely loved it.

052

The Salsa recipe is pretty standard and I cannot wait for fresh tomatoes, which will make it even better.  The Not-So-Fat Guacamole is anything but standard.  There is NO avocado in this recipe.  Now, I have seen and tried low-fat guacamole recipes that replace some of the avocado with some kind of bean, like edamame in this this Happy Herbivore version.  The Forks Over Knives recipe is made with edamame and broccoli,  along with the more traditional ingredients such as red onion, cilantro and garlic.  The flavor profile was reminiscent of gaucamole, but the texture never got there for me.  It lacked the creaminess you expect from a good guac recipe.  I would say this makes a good spread in a wrap but isn’t a replacement for a dip (not for me anyway).

The portobello mushrooms were marinated for an hour in a soy sauce based marinade before grilling.  The fajita recipe called for red onion and bell pepper to be cooked stove top but since I was grilling the mushrooms I threw the other vegetables on the grill too.  After grilling, I sliced and seasoned stove top to finish the fajitas.  This was a fairly quick and easy meal to prepare and very satisfying.  The recipe for the Grilled Mushrooms mentions having them as burgers; I’ll have to try that next time.  They really soaked up the marinade well.

New Recipes Made This Week: 4

New Recipe Tally 2013: 60

One thought on “Week 19: Vegan Cinco de Mayo

  1. Pingback: Week 29: Leftover Mystery Basket Challenge | Dandelion Wishes

Leave a Reply

