Week 20: Mixed Diet Family Get-Togethers

Last weekend I had an impromptu family get-together for Mother’s Day.  My parents and my brother and his family came for a brunch that was probably a bit closer to lunch than standard Sunday brunch fare.  Personally, I do not expect others to adapt to my lifestyle.  I see a lot of posts about this topic, particular around holidays.  When I go to visit family they make an effort to have something I will eat and I try to do the same in return.  Of course, I’ll make some yummy vegan food for them to try as well!

Mother’s Day weekend was a bit unorganized and I didn’t get meal planning, shopping, prepping or cooking until Sunday morning. Considering everyone was to arrive around noon this didn’t leave a lot of time.  Given the time constraints, I decided to get burgers for the family and make some yummy vegan sides to accompany.

Forks Over Knives Cookbook had a Grilled Vegetable Pasta Salad with Pineapple Chutney that sounded wonderful (how did I not realize there were grilled vegetable recipes in FoK before?!).  This recipe is actually three recipes.  First is Grilled Vegetable Kabobs, which make up the grilled vegetable portion of the recipe.  Here an assortment of vegetables marinated with a balsamic and herb based marinade are grilled.  The vegetables are added to pasta with cilantro and green onions.  I used gluten-free pasta as I have a number of gluten intolerant family members.

FoK Grilled Veg Pasta Salad

Finally, Pineapple Chutney is mixed in.  I admit I had my doubts on this one.  The book describes this as “the pineapple chutney adds an unusual but delicious dressing for the salad”.  Unusual is rarely good in my experience, but I was proven wrong!  The pineapple chutney has jalapeno, onion, and herbs that give it a nice savory tang that went well with the pasta and grilled vegetables.  I will say it was best fresh, but it have been the gluten-free pasta leading to the dryness of the leftovers.

FoK Pineapple Chutney

I also made Happy Herbivore German Potato Salad from Happy Herbivore Abroad Cookbook.  This recipe called for bacon bits and had a recipe to make your own.  There was also a chef’s note that most commercial brand bacon bits are vegan and since I was short on prep time I decided to buy some.  Of course, as I was getting ready to serve, I quickly checked the label to make sure they were gluten free and realized I had managed to buy the real bacon bits (meaning one and only ingredient was bacon)… rookie mistake!  I tasted a tiny piece of potato that seemed unadulterated and it was absolutely delicious so I will be making this again for myself with more attention to the bacon bits next time.  I also forgot to snap a pic of this one before the family gobbled it up 😉 It was a big hit and mom even asked for the recipe.

New Recipes Made This Week: 4

New Recipe Tally 2013: 64

One thought on “Week 20: Mixed Diet Family Get-Togethers

  1. Pingback: Week 29: Leftover Mystery Basket Challenge | Dandelion Wishes

Leave a Reply

