Week 25: Bursting with Berries Bliss

Summer solstice, super moon…it’s a wonderful week to enjoy the universe.  One of my closest and oldest friends was married on Friday in our hometown.  It was an absolutely beautiful day and such a wonderful time back home visiting family and seeing old friends at the wedding.

Wedding 079Since I was in the wedding I traveled back to New York on Thursday to get ready for the festivities and go to the rehearsal dinner.  Being only home three days this week (and busy getting ready at that) I didn’t do much cooking last weekend.  When I returned home yesterday I decided a sweet treat was in order to finish out the week.

I decided on Bursting with Berries Cobbler from the Forks Over Knives Cookbook.  The recipe is two steps.  First cook up the berries of your choosing (I used blackberries, blueberries and strawberries) in the oven then add the biscuit topping and cook a bit longer.  It was more natural than intended as I didn’t realize that my applesauce had some moldy friends until I went to use it for the topping while the berries were already cooking; it has apparently been far too long since I’ve made myself a sweet treat.  Luckily, I had some apples on hand and quickly diced one up to make some very fast applesauce.  I also made my own oat flour, but this simply involves pulsing oats in the food processor so no credit for effort there.

This recipe is wonderful and definitely satisfies a sweet craving.  I was amazed how good the cobbler topping was without any butter or shortening to make a crumble.  Simply applesauce and some almond butter mix with the oats and almond milk to make a crumble.  A sprinkle of cinnamon sugar on top and it tastes just like a full fat, butter rich crumble.

005

Now to go test how it reheats 😉

New Recipes Made This Week: 1

New Recipe Tally 2013: 71

 

 

One thought on “Week 25: Bursting with Berries Bliss

  1. Pingback: Week 26: Plant Based in Color, Texture and Flavor | Dandelion Wishes

Leave a Reply

