Week 26: Plant Based in Color, Texture and Flavor

When I returned home from the wedding festivities last weekend I was exhausted.  I was relaxing with the summer reading issue of O Magazine and was pleased to see that Oprah listed planting, picking, cooking, and eating vegetables from her garden as four of her favorite twenty things to be grateful for.  The recipe section inspired my lunches for the week.  Quinoa Salad with Arugula and Tomatoes was a very satisfying and filling lunch.  The quinoa has thinly sliced red onion and diced jalapenos and is served on a bed of arugula with tomatoes and cucumber.  Spicy Citrus Dressing is absolutely delicious.  I left the olive oil out entirely for a low-fat version and did not even miss it.

007The salad and dressing has everything one could want in a meal: eye-appealing color on the plate, a variety of textures from the crunchy arugula to the soft quinoa, and sweet citrus with spicy chili and jalapeno for a balance in flavor.  I think this will be a favorite summer lunch!  Lucky for you both recipes are posted online (but if you are a reader like me I’d recommend buying this month’s issue for the summer reading recommendations).

With lunches taken care of I went looking for some dinner inspiration.  I hadn’t made a good stir fry in awhile and remembered there were a number I hadn’t tried yet in Happy Herbivore Abroad so went perusing for some dinner options.  I decided on Chili Bok Choy, a Thai inspired simple stir fry.  I’m certain I’ve eaten Bok Choy out in restaurants but had never bought or prepared it.

009

I must say Baby Bok Choy is adorable.  It also cooks super fast and cooks down quite a bit.    I tend to love stir-fries because of the variety of colors and textures the different vegetables bring to the dish.  I also happen to have some colored bell peppers that needed to be used so I added some additional veg though the recipe only called for Bok Choy.  Since the other veggies required more cooking time, I cooked them first separately then removed them from the pan and followed the Bok Choy recipe as written before adding the other vegetables back in the end.  Super easy and delicious!

010

New Recipes Made This Week: 3

New Recipe Tally 2013: 74

 

2 thoughts on “Week 26: Plant Based in Color, Texture and Flavor

  1. Pingback: Week 28: Supper Sandwiches Vegan Style | Dandelion Wishes

  2. Pingback: Dandelion Wishes

Leave a Reply

