Week 27: Summer Farms

Happy 4th of July weekend America! The holiday weekend is coming to close but I had a great break from the day job and got a lot done at home (read: my yard finally looks presentable). Besides yard work and such I did get to spend some time visiting my friend Nikki (The Pink Ticket) for our annual blueberry picking adventure. What better thing to do in a heat wave than go blueberry picking 🙂 I always come home with a ton of blueberries thinking they’ll last through the winter and they rarely even make it through the summer. You can be assured there will be new blueberry recipes in the upcoming weeks (I was eyeing up the Engine 2 Diet Spelt Pancake recipe this morning but had no spelt flour so went with my usual pancakes).

079

Nikki inspired this week’s new recipe. As we were waiting for Oyster Mushroom Po Boy’s from Sprig and Vine (our reward for our hard work in the fields) we were talking recipes and she mentioned she’d been enjoying Susan Voisin’s (aka Fat Free Vegan’s) Zucchini Noodles with Sesame-Peanut Sauce. I hadn’t made any new recipes yet and had just bought some zucchini and squash at the farmers market with no real plans as to what to do with them…so here we are.

When I went online and looked up the recipe I was surprised to see this is a raw recipe. I don’t usually eat zucchini raw but considering the 100 degree heat index I wasn’t going to argue. This was really fast and easy to throw together and tastes great. I used both zucchini and yellow squash because I didn’t have enough zucchini by itself. All you need is a julienne peeler to end up with noodle-like zucchini. I added cilantro and green onion to the dish because I also had them on hand and next time I’ll add more chili sauce to satisfy my love of a good spicy dish (as written I didn’t find this very spicy). Susan warns it can get watery leftover and I haven’t tried the leftovers yet so we’ll have to see if it passes for lunch tomorrow.

023

I never managed to get my container garden going this year so I’m looking forward to the Farmer’s Markets and pick your own orchards even more than usual.

New Recipes Made This Week: 1

New Recipe Tally 2013: 75

2 thoughts on “Week 27: Summer Farms

  1. Pingback: Week 30: Lay Down Your Weary Tune | Dandelion Wishes

  2. Pingback: Engine 2 Challenge: Week 2 Wrap-Up | Dandelion Wishes

Leave a Reply

