Week 28: Supper Sandwiches Vegan Style

I love a good sandwich.  For me a good fresh bread and the toppings make the sandwich.  The bread must be crusty on the outside and soft on the inside.  The toppings are all about the texture, flavor and color – I don’t stop at lettuce and tomato, if they’re are not toppings falling out the sides then my sandwich is not properly prepared.  In the summer time I will often make a sandwich for dinner to avoid having to cook in the heat (yes, I have air conditioning but somehow just the thought of cooking makes me hot this time of year).

I have had in the back of my mind a picture from Veganomicon that I recalled seeing when I first received the book at Christmas time and thinking that I must make that sandwich.  Of course, in winter I’m all about stews and soups…it perfectly logical trust me.  I finally looked back through the book before shopping for the week.  This week’s new recipe was Roasted Eggplant and Spinach Muffuletta Sandwiches.  The traditional muffaletta sandwich originated in New Orleans and consists of layers of marinated olive salad, mortadella, salami, mozzarella, ham, and provolone.  The Veganomicon version is made with olive salad and eggplant, with layers of spinach and roasted peppers.

The recipe called for roasting the eggplant but I chose to grill it.  There was olive oil listed in the olive salad; if you are low-fat plant based you can substitute broth or use the Happy Herbivore Olive Tapenade from Happy Herbivore Abroad.  For this first attempt I simply left the olive out so the flavor profile was as intended.  I also improvised a bit on the roasted red pepper topping.  I decided to make a sun-dried tomato, roasted red pepper spread that I’ve made before for a baked eggplant recipe (here I buy the dry sun-dried tomato instead of oil-packed).  The picture doesn’t do the layers of yummy goodness justice.

Veganomicon Muffaletta

I loved this sandwich so much that I grilled up more vegetables to have for a party I was hosting yesterday afternoon and had it again.  They’ll be more on the party next week as I’m currently scheming what to do with my leftovers!

New Recipes Made This Week: 1

New Recipe Tally 2013: 76

 

One thought on “Week 28: Supper Sandwiches Vegan Style

  1. Pingback: Week 29: Leftover Mystery Basket Challenge | Dandelion Wishes

Leave a Reply

