Week 37: Revisiting Fall Favorites

Summer and Fall have been in a battle to take claim of September over the past week or so.  Last week started off cool and breezy before a resurrected humid heat settled upon us only to be stormed away as Fall reclaimed its territory.  Fall happens to be my favorite season and as the early signs of its return start to show my cravings adjust to foods I haven’t had all summer.  Pictured above was Week 37’s comfort food creation.  Happy Herbivore Hippie Loaf with Kathy Patalsky’s Acorn Squash Alfredo and steamed broccoli.  These are not new recipes but so good I had to share!

IMG_4796I’m a bit late with my post this week so food prep for the week is already well underway. Dinner this week isn’t new either, rather my favorite chili recipe. Emeril’s Vegetarian Chili is loaded with veggies, using portobellos as the meat of the dish, and perfect for a fall evening.  I use pinto beans instead of the recommended black beans simply because that is how I typically prepare my chili.

There was one new recipe for Week 37.  Since I enjoyed Week 36’s Curry Roasted Cauliflower lunches so much, and the head of cauliflower I had bought  was so large I used only half, I went in search of another cauliflower recipe.  I ended up choosing Forks Over Knives Aloo Gobi.  Aloo Gobi is a potato and cauliflower curry in a spiced fresh tomato base. This recipe was a bit more bland than I typically think of Indian dishes.  I liked the dish but prefer Vegetable Korma, which seems saucier and spicier. To boost the flavor profile of the Aloo Gobi I took the Happy Herbivore Vegetable Korma sauce as inspiration and added a little bit of almond milk, more cumin and coriander; I also added some peas and carrots for color.  These additions made the dish more enticing to my palette; served over brown rice, this was quite a satisfying lunch.

IMG_4794I haven’t made a new recipe for Week 38 yet.  With a busy week at work and a giant vat of chili to work my way through I think this week will be a sweet treat or a pancake.  There’s so much pumpk-inspiration out there and apple season is upon too!  Hmmm…decisions, decisions.

New Recipes Made This Week: 1

New Recipe Tally 2013: 102

Leave a Reply

