Week 40: The Pumpkin King vs Mother Nature

Yes, it’s another pumpkin week; if you do not like pumpkin (how is that possible?!) you may be disappointed for the next couple of months with my new recipe choices.  Despite the random, and cruel resurrection of summer weather, I am clinging to fall with all my might (from the comfort of my air conditioned living room – I held out until today but just couldn’t take the 85+ degrees any more).  In a show of stubbornness  I even turned the oven on to make some more pumpkin treats.  Take that Mother Nature!

I started off the week trying to shake up breakfasts with a new oatmeal recipe.  I’ve tried crock-pot oatmeal and overnight oatmeal and have been disappointed with both, mainly due to texture and consistency.  I haven’t tried baked oatmeal yet and when I saw a pumpkin baked oatmeal on Pinterest that looked absolutely delicious I figured I’d give it a go.

Chocolate-Covered Katie’s Vegan Pumpkin Baked Oatmeal (Pumpkin Boatmeal) is a simple dish to prepare and a single-serve recipe makes it even easier to give it a try without too much commitment (you’ll be making larger batches in no time).

IMG_4926

I baked this in the evening and then reheated for 30 – 60 seconds in the microwave before putting in the toaster oven to crisp the top and finish heating through while I got ready for work.

This was a welcome alternative to my usual stovetop old fashioned oatmeal.  The texture was great, crispy on the top and softer in the middle.  The recipe is not too sweet making it perfect for a light but filling breakfast.  The pumpkin and spice are more prominent in the crisped top so definitely be sure to let it bake long enough for that nice crust on top to form.

Next up were  Pumpkin Spice Doughnuts with Pumpkin Pecan Glaze.  This is another simple recipe to throw together pretty quickly and they bake fairly quickly as well.  Vegan, Low-Fat (ie no oil), Baked…what more could you want!  Did I mention moist, flavorful, and delicious.  Making the glaze with pumpkin puree really makes the flavor come through even more.  Of course, my glaze quickly melted into the doughnut due to the lovely heatwave.

IMG_4958These recipes will both be put in the rotation.

New Recipes Made This Week: 2

New Recipe Tally 2013: 109

Leave a Reply

