Week 41: Let Them Eat Vegan!

I admit it, I have a problem…I am a little bit obsessed with cookbooks.  I still prefer to have actual books (as opposed to electronic versions) and this little new recipe challenge was sparked by the many I received for Christmas.  Once upon a time I told myself no new cookbooks until my birthday, which was in April.  Well, April came and went and I was still working my way through Happy Herbivore, Forks Over Knives and Veganomicon with some occasional Pinterest and blog sourced treats.  This week I caved.  First, with a vegan cookbook find while visiting New Hope with friends and then to finally buy a Dreena Burton cookbook.  After enjoying Dreena’s blog for some time now I decided to get Let Them Eat Vegan!.

IMG_4964If you’re like me and love having pictures of recipes in your cookbooks then Happy Herbivore is for you.  Let Them Eat Vegan, much like Forks Over Knives and Veganomicon, only has a limited number of select pictures in the center of the book.  It’s no surprise I was swayed to make one of the chosen recipes there was a picture of, Jerk Chickpeas, for lunches this week.  This recipe made for a very satisfying lunch.  The dish was very fragrant from cinnamon and cloves but I didn’t find these overpowering to taste.  There was a sweetness from maple syrup that was balanced with the acid of lime juice.  I could have used some more heat and will up the crushed red pepper next time around but there will definitely be a next time for this one.

I decided to go with a casserole for dinners.  Baked Macaroni with Broccolini in a Creamy Walnut Gravy was pretty easy to put together.  Out of the oven this was a great dish, nice and creamy with earthy undertones from sage and the walnuts in the gravy (which will be made and used for other purposes I’m sure).  Like many casseroles, it was not as good re-heated as it lost some of its creaminess.

IMG_4968

IMG_4980I wasn’t feeling the greatest early in the week and had a soup craving; I remembered seeing Dreena post her Sniffle Soup recipe on the blog in a back-to-school series.  I had everything on hand to make it quick with no fuss.  This recipe is not from the new to me cookbook but from another Dreena Burton book, Eat, Drink and Be Vegan.  Mine looks quite different than her picture, which I’m guessing the culprit is my choice of a red curry.  It was not spicy but had a lovely warmth to it and a broth based soup is a perfect low-calorie snack for a rainy day.

Finally, the weekend had me wanting pancakes (as usual) and I had received a sneak peak of Happy Herbivore’s Pumpkin Pancake recipe from the upcoming Light and Lean cookbook through Lindsay’s newsletter.  I have tried many pumpkin pancake recipes.  I will say that the Pink Ticket version were indulgent and spicy delicious while the Happy Herbivore version are, well, lighter but also not as pumpkin-y or spicy.  They came together quickly and the recipe also halved well.

IMG_4963

Now to decide what cookbooks to put on the Christmas list!

New Recipes Made This Week: 4

New Recipe Tally 2013: 113

One thought on “Week 41: Let Them Eat Vegan!

Leave a Reply

