Week 46: Week in a Day

Week in a Day is a Food Network show hosted by Rachel Ray.  Often times when I’m taking a break from whatever I’m doing to grab a bite to eat, I’ll put on the TV to Food Network to watch while I’m munching.  This morning Rachel Ray’s Week in a Day was on while I had my brunch.  A new show to me but pretty similar to how I try to keep myself from impulse eats – cook as much as possible over the weekend so weekday meals can be quickly prepared.  At a loss for a clever name for Week 46, this seemed a fitting inspiration.

IMG_5163Everyday Happy Herbivore Morning Glory Muffins aren’t quite filling enough for a breakfast to me (though you could always eat 2 or 3 of these 100 calorie glories, or maybe make a giant version!) but they were a great whole food plant based snack – either mid-morning or with afternoon tea.  These are packed full of goodness from oats, carrots, pumpkin, and raisins.  Don’t be fooled by the ingredients (or the picture, not the best of my photos) these are wonderfully moist and have just the right sweetness for a tea accompaniment.

IMG_5158I decided to go Thai for lunch with Dreena Burton’s Peanut Thai Vegetable Stew from Let Them Eat Vegan.  The flavors in this dish were more subtle than I expected with ingredients like peanut butter, coconut milk, garlic and onion.  It was very light in flavor profile but had a creaminess that was almost like a thick cream soup.  I admit I wanted to boost the flavors in this dish and added extra lime juice and some Thai garlic sauce to enhance the spice level.  It was a lovely dish but more of an appetizer than a meal for me; I found myself craving something more.

IMG_5161Dinner was the star of the week for me in Week 46.  I made Black Beans in Chipotle Adobo Sauce and Mexican Millet from Veganomicon; I ran out of millet and could not find it in my grocery so I substituted brown rice for the grain but followed the recipe otherwise.  This dish was a delicious rice and beans dinner.  I made the peppers/onions from Happy Herbivore Abroad fajitas recipes (I’ve made the full recipe before) and served with fresh tomatoes and avocado to complete the meal.  I was quite pleased with myself and felt this was a quality dish that could stand next to any fajita plate I’d ordered at a Chili’s or like.  The dish also re-heated well and was easily turned into a burrito (one of which is now in the freezer to test as a homemade Amy’s substitute, wish me luck).

IMG_5160I was surprised when someone questioned how eating vegan isn’t boring this past week.  I have eaten a greater variety and tried more new dishes on this plant based journey than I ever did on a typical diet.  When was the last time you tried something new?

New Recipes Made This Week: 4

New Recipe Tally 2013: 129

Leave a Reply

