Blogroll & Vegan Thanksgiving Resources

All of social media is a buzz with Thanksgiving recipes and “special diet” holiday meal ideas.  Apparently, anyone who does not follow the Standard American Diet (SAD) is “special”.  I decided this would be a good time to throw in an extra post to highlight some of my favorite online resources for new recipes and meatless dish inspiration.  Whether you are a herbivore, omnivore or proud follower of SAD, these bloggers have some delicious recipes and are great (and free) resources to learn about and give whole food plant based (WFPB) living a try.

  1. Forks Over Knives: As noted in my Forks Over Knives Week post, Forks Over Knives does have a website with information about WFPB living and a whole recipe section.  Of the online recipes I’ve tried Lentil Shepherd’s Pie with Rustic Parsnip Crust is my favorite.  The Forks Over Knives Thanksgiving Recipe Roundup is also up on their website.
  2. The Engine 2 Diet:  Created by Rip Esselstyn when he was a firefighter at the Austin (TX) Engine 2 Station, E2 has really been very successful and popular in the WFPB world.  There are lots of Engine 2 products available, including a food line at Whole Foods.  My favorite online recipe from Engine 2 available online is the Spelt-Blueberry Pancakes recipe.
  3. Happy Herbivore: Lindsay Nixon is the Happy Herbivore.  Her website is very comprehensive with recipes, cooking tips, cheat sheets for substitutions, and a blog that goes beyond WFBP cooking and adds posts on minimalist living, Q&As, and my favorite, Herbie of the Week with inspiring interviews with those who have seen great health benefits from living WFPB lifestyles.  My favorite recipe available online is of course Chickpea Tacos but the fan favorite Pad Thai was recently revealed online in a Happy Herbivore Ustream cooking show.  You can also check out Lindsay’s Thanksgiving menu and prep sheet.  Week 47 will be dedicated to Happy Herbivore so stay tuned.
  4. Post Punk Kitchen: Isa Chandra is one of the authors of Veganomicon.  The Post Punk Kitchen website is another great online resource packed with recipes, videos and a blog.  I haven’t tried it yet, but the Stuffed Thanksgiving Burger both terrifies me and intrigues me with it’s beautiful photos reminiscent of Thanksgiving leftovers.  Isa’s new cookbook, Isa Does It is on the top of my Christmas list.
  5. Fat Free Vegan: Susan Voison is the woman behind Fat Free Vegan.  Her website is all recipes with beautiful pictures and great stories to share.  My love of the beetball has resulted in a whole blog post being dedicated to them so you can guess this is my favorite Fat Free Vegan recipe.  There are countless others I love on this site and many more on my need to try list.  Susan has a countdown to Thanksgiving on her facebook page with daily recipe posts.
  6. Plant-Powered Kitchen: Plant-Powered Kitchen is Dreena Burton’s website.  There are a LOT of recipes on this site.  If I had to pick a favorite online recipe I think I’d choose the No-Fu Loaf, a great WFPB meatloaf-like entree.  The Plant-powered Thanksgiving post makes me want pie and reminds me that I do have apples left that should really be used…
  7. Healthy.Happy. Life: aka lunchboxbunch.com is the home of Kathy Patalsky.  In addition to WFPB recipes, Kathy stands out with a lot of unique smoothie recipes, exceptional pictures and a wonderful, personal blog.  My favorite online recipe from Kathy is Easy Sweet Potato Veggie Burgers, but the Spicy Peanut Ginger Kale Salad is a very close second.
  8. Chocolate Covered Katie: This one is fairly new to me having recently discovered the page through Pinterest.  My new favorite breakfast, Baked Pumpkin Oatmeal is sourced from Katie.  What makes this page stand out is that it is mostly desserts with some oatmeal and pancake recipes mixed in.
  9. Straight Up Food:  The website of WFPB chef Cathy Fisher is filled with great recipe options and her recipes are often re-posted by Forks Over Knives.
  10. Oh She Glows:  Angela Liddon is the woman behind Oh She Glows.  This website is another fairly new to me site but I imagine I will be spend more time and gaining more inspiration here.  My favorite recipe (thus far) from this site is Pecan Pumpkin Butter, which makes a great dip and also a great cinnamon roll!

Since Pinterest was mentioned, it is a good place to go perusing for recipes if you have something in mind.  I’ve created a few too many boards on Pinterest but justify it by making sure I actually go and try some of the recipes I’ve pinned.

2 thoughts on “Blogroll & Vegan Thanksgiving Resources

  1. Pingback: Week 47: Happy Herbivore | Dandelion Wishes

  2. Pingback: Engine 2 Challenge Check In | Dandelion Wishes

Leave a Reply

