Week 48: Holidays, Visits and Plates to Share & Snack

Tuesday already?!  Am I the only one still getting back in the swing of things after a long holiday weekend??  I usually host Thanksgiving at my house but this year the family was dispersed a bit and I ended up enjoying a small Thanksgiving at my parents home instead.  I ate all the sides and decided on Fat Free Vegan, Susan Voisin’s Celebration Pot Pie with Pumpkin Biscuit Crust as my main.

The pot pie filling was delicious and everything you’d expect from a pot pie; the dish is loaded with celery, onion, carrots, mushrooms, peas and potatoes and seasoned with all the herbs that remind you of Thanksgiving – sage, thyme, bay leaves (and I added a little rosemary for good measure; I also used all fresh herbs instead of dried).  I do not generally use meat replacements or tofu, so seitan is something I am not very accustomed to.  I decided to give it a try since I did like the chickpea cutlets from Veganomicon and this seemed a similar concept using vital wheat gluten to create a meaty texture.  The seitan was quite simple to prepare from scratch albeit a bit messy and sticky to work with.  However, I didn’t love the texture of the seitan in the filling and next time will simply use chickpeas rather than a meat substitute. Finally, the pumpkin biscuit topping.  I made the pot pie filling and seitan the day before Thanksgiving and then made the biscuit topping in the morning and simply popped it in the oven to reheat at my parents.  I added some fresh herbs to the biscuits as well.  This topping was a nice light alternative to a typical heavy, oily pot pie crust.  They were also quite simple to put together and would go well as biscuits with any dish really.  All in all Thanksgiving success!  This recipe does make a LOT of food; I had two 8×8 dishes and still had more than enough to make my single serve bowl to take along (I’ll half it next time).

IMG_5296

 

 

IMG_5295Of course, it wouldn’t be Thanksgiving without pie.  After perusing many mouth-watering contenders I settled on Dreena Burton’s Great Pumpkin Pie.  Instead of condensed milk this pie uses cashews, non-dairy milk and arrowroot powder to thicken the filling.  I could not find arrowroot powder so substituted cornstarch and that worked just fine.  The crust is made of oats, dates and nut butter pressed into the dish rather than rolled.  The pie was lovely, the filling had a nice consistency but I will add more spice to mine next time to boost the pumpkin spice flavors.  The crust overcooked a bit around the edges so I would suggest lining with foil until the last 10 minutes.   I completely forgot to take a picture of a sliced version so my picture doesn’t really do it justice.

IMG_5224Being home most of the week I was looking for a snack to have around and remembered that Oh She Glows had posted Matt Frazier’s Buffalo Hummus Recipe on her blog.  The recipe is from Matt’s first book, No Meat Athlete, which I do not have in my collection as of yet.  Hummus is very easy to make yourself with minimal ingredients and a food processor.  Making it at home also allows you to cut the fat content as store-bought versions can have quite a lot of oil and be 50% fat.  I really enjoyed this recipe though I will probably reduce the garlic and increase the hot sauce next time, by the second day I tasted the garlic more than the buffalo sauce (still good but not the buffalo hummus I was craving).

Holiday week’s are also a time to visit with friends.  I went to see some former colleagues and wanted to bring them a sweet treat since they were always my best taste-testers.  I’ve had my eye on the Tortuga Rum Cake from Everyday Happy Herbivore for awhile and finally remembered to buy a bottle of rum when I was picking up some holiday wine.  I loved this recipe.  It was sweet, spicy a little boozy…perfect for a holiday treat.  The glaze is a lovely rum sugar mix with a subtle citrus from orange zest.  When I make new recipes to share I usually make a mini-muffin or two so I can taste test in advance.  The recipe worked well as a muffin recipe as well.

IMG_5287

I actually missed not having Thanksgiving at my place and ended up cooking some stuffing, yams, cranberry sauce and green bean casserole to have with the leftovers this week.  I needed a gravy to go with my leftovers and Happy Herbivore Sage Gravy also from Everyday Happy Herbivore seemed perfect for Thanksgiving.  I substituted fresh herbs for dried and added some thyme and rosemary in addition to the sage so it was more of an herb gravy by the time I was done with it but it was just right to complete my meal.

New Recipes Made This Week: 5

New Recipe Tally 2013: 142

2 thoughts on “Week 48: Holidays, Visits and Plates to Share & Snack

  1. Pingback: Dilly Stew with Rosemary Dumplings | Dandelion Wishes

Leave a Reply

