Whole Food Plant Based Butternut Squash Ravioli with Cranberry Sage Sauce

It was easy to decide the first dish to work out a recipe for in the 2014 Challenge.  I’ve made some version of this dish at least three or four times a year for a few years now.  The inspiration was an awesome dinner at Sprig & Vine restaurant in New Hope, Pennsylvania.  Typically, a visit to Sprig & Vine is a lunch affair; Fried Oyster Mushroom Po Boys are a rare fried treat eaten after a morning in the fields picking berries or apples.  I’ve been there for dinner only once, for a friend’s birthday.  I had butternut squash ravioli and it was absolutely delicious.

There are certain things that I find are just not worth making from scratch.  I made ravioli from scratch one time; I can officially say I tried.  Unlike other items I was happily surprised to see are quite easily made at home, unprocessed, I find ravioli to be difficult and time consuming.  Luckily, I found a minimal ingredient, low-fat butternut squash ravioli in the freezer aisle.  Rising Moon Butternut Squash Ravioli are wonderful and amazing.  I’ve taken inspiration from Sprig & Vine’s dish to dress up the frozen fare.  Apples and walnuts provide a texture while fresh cranberries, sage, rosemary and roasted sweet potato add dimensions of flavor.  The first challenge in sharing recipes was the realization that I don’t usually measure things when I cook.  A couple of attempts and I’m ready to share!

Recipe (serves 2)

IMG_57501 package Rising Moon Butternut Squash Ravioli
1 cup vegetable broth
1 tablespoon whole wheat pastry flour
1/2 sweet potato (or yam, parsnip, butternut squash), diced
1/2 medium red onion, sliced thinly
2 cloves of garlic, minced
1 teaspoon sage
1/2 teaspoon dried rosemary
salt and fresh ground pepper to taste
3/4 cup fresh cranberries, chopped coarsely
1/2 granny smith apple, peeled and diced
1/4 cup walnuts, chopped

Preheat oven to 400.  Line a baking sheet with parchment.

Whisk one tablespoon whole wheat pastry flour with 1 cup of vegetable broth and set aside.

Chop sweet potato.  This time I used NJ Sweet Potato, which was already roasting when I took the photo above; I’ve used parsnip or yams in the past.  Spray potato lightly with cooking spray and add fresh ground pepper to taste.  Place in a single layer on a baking sheet and bake for 15 minutes at 400.

Cook ravioli per package directions.

Add a few tablespoons of water to a medium pan and sauté red onion over medium high heat 5-7 minutes until translucent, adding water 1-2 tablespoonfuls as needed to prevent sticking to the pan.  Add garlic (I usually just use a microplane), sage, rosemary and sauté another minute.  Add cranberries, apple, roasted sweet potato, and vegetable broth mixture to pan.  Bring to boil and turn heat off.  Allow sauce to sit a few minutes to thicken.  Add salt and fresh ground pepper to taste.

To serve plate ravioli, top with sauce and sprinkle with walnuts.

IMG_5756

Leave a Reply

