Amazingly Easy, Wildly Delicious Vegan Recipes

I’m still adjusting to the blog format for the 2014 Challenge and have a few posts in draft as I’m testing recipes and working with my new kitchen toys.  I thought I’d take to today to catch up on two new to me dishes that I hadn’t gotten around to writing up.  I have probably been doing Isa Chandra Moskowitz’s new cookbook, Isa Does It, a bit of a a disservice by not blogging it’s full title – Isa Does It: Amazingly Easy, Wildly Delicious Vegan Recipes for Every Day of the Week.  You can see why I’ve shortened it in my previous posts!

The dishes I’ve made so far have come together quite simply, yet still have depths of flavor that you expect out of the Post Punk Kitchen.  So far I’ve discovered Scrambled Chickpeas that have replaced pancakes for weekend breakfast routine (leftovers make great breakfast burritos for the office) and  Vegan Briny Caesar Dressing, which is so awesome it should be bottled.  Of course, there was also the oddly amazing Black Eyed Pea and Collard Tacos with Apple-Avocado Salsa.  There were two dishes that I hadn’t written up yet.  These were the simplest I’ve made so far,  Chicky Tuna Salad Sandwiches and Olive Angel Hair with Seared Brussels Sprouts.

Smashed chickpea sandwiches are something I make for lunch all the time because they are an easy, satisfying lunch to throw together and I usually have everything on hand to make them.  My version started out as a replacement for chicken salad and typically includes celery, onion, dill and paprika.  Isa’s version is a tuna salad replacement with optional kelp suggested to season the chickpeas.  In addition to onion and celery, Isa’s dish has shredded carrot and sunflower seeds.  I was never a tuna salad fan so chose to leave out the kelp and added my usual dill instead.  I found the sunflower seeds a nice addition in texture and nuttiness but the carrot was a little too much texture for my sandwich and I’ll probably leave them out next time.

IMG_5738

The Olive Angel Hair with Seared Brussels Sprouts was a quick dinner to throw together.  This is one of the dishes where the recipe includes tips to be more efficient while cooking and to limit extra dishes.  It was suggested to steam the brussels sprouts over the pasta water before cooking the pasta.  The brussels sprouts are then seared quickly stovetop.  The brussels sprouts, kalamata olives, and garlic were a nice combination of flavors and toasted walnuts added some texture.  Leftover the dish needed a boost in flavor so I added another splash of white balsamic before reheating.  Though steaming then searing the brussels sprouts was a good time saver I love the flavor of roasted brussels sprouts and may try roasting them for more caramelization next time.

IMG_5746

It seems I may be cooking my way through Isa Does It this year!

Isa Does It Recipes: 5

2 thoughts on “Amazingly Easy, Wildly Delicious Vegan Recipes

Leave a Reply

