Plant Based Indian Buffet

We’re now midweek through Week 2 of the Engine 2 Challenge!  I’m doing better this week than last and hoping to maintain electricity through the coming storm.  Every so often I get a hankering for Indian food and decide to make an assortment of dishes for an at-home buffet of sorts.  Happy Herbivore has a lot of options to choose from in her various cookbooks, which makes it easy with no modifications necessary.  I had intended to make Red Lentil Dal (Happy Herbivore Cookbook), Chickpea Tikka Masala (Everyday Happy Herbivore), and Vegetable Korma (Happy Herbivore Abroad).   I decided to scale back after I remembered I’d be in training three days this week offsite and uncertain of the microwave situation; I also still had some eggplant leftover.  To keep it simple I chose Chickpea Tikka Masala.

Chickpea Tikka Masala is a great dish and very fast and easy to pull together.  It gets it’s creaminess from blended silken tofu and it’s flavor from Indian spiced tomato sauce.  Instead of plain brown rice, I went looking on Pinterest for something to make it more interesting.  A recipe for Indian Rice became my inspiration but I simplified it even more.  I  used 1 cup of basmati brown rice and 2-1/4 cups water (per the cooking instructions on my package) and added 1 tsp each of ginger, turmeric, fennel seeds, cumin and  2 teaspoons of coriander.   I cooked the rice about 40 minutes and stirred in frozen peas (I didn’t measure but would guess more than the 1/2 cup that the recipe called for.  The rice was just what I was looking for – flavorful but not spicy.

Finally I had bought cauliflower thinking I’d add it to the Korma but decided to roast it so that I could have it going in the oven while I was working on the tikka masala.  The roasted curry cauliflower I usually make uses oil to coat the cauliflower with the curry spices.  I was trying to decide what to use in place of the oil – water, broth, tahini, tamari…when I looked over the recipe, saw lemon zest and decided lemon juice.  I modified the Simply Scratch recipe as follows:

I used 1/2 head of cauliflower, the zest AND juice of one lemon (I didn’t measure), curry powder, garlic powder and turmeric as called for and omitted the remaining ingredients.

1/2 head Cauliflower, cut into bite-size floret
1 Lemon – Juice and  Zest
1 tablespoon Curry Powder
1 teaspoon Garlic Powder
1/2 teaspoon Turmeric

Toss cauliflower to coat with the spiced lemon mixture, place in a single layer on parchment-lined cookie sheet and roast in 400 degree oven for 30-40 minutes.

The modifications definitely result in a more prominent lemon flavor than the oil-based version, but it is still a very satisfying dish.  I may up the amount of curry next time around to spice it up a bit.   All in all a very good plant strong meal and another successful modification.

IMG_5859

3 thoughts on “Plant Based Indian Buffet

  1. Pingback: Engine 2 Challenge: Week 2 Wrap-Up | Dandelion Wishes

  2. Pingback: Engine 2 Challenge: Week 4! | Dandelion Wishes

  3. Pingback: Sunday Dinner: Whole Food Plant Based Stuffed Shells | Dandelion Wishes

Leave a Reply

