Engine 2 Challenge: Week 2 Wrap-Up

I’ve reached the half-way point of the Engine 2 Challenge!  This week was not quite 100%; the weather seemed to call for wine and there was a bagel and cream cheese for breakfast on Monday.  I think I did  better this week than last all in all and, as a bonus, I’ve lost 4 lbs since starting the Challenge.

Breakfasts included my favorite Scrambled Chickpeas from Isa Does It served over Cajun Roasted Sweet Potatoes and topped with avocado, tomato, scallion and cilantro.  This time I substituted cilantro and lime for the dill and lemon juice of the recipe.

IMG_5131

I also made Cranberry Orange Oatmeal for breakfasts.  This quickly became a favorite (I even chose this over vegan pancakes this weekend!).  Here is the recipe:

1/2 cup old-fashioned rolled oats
1 cup water or non-dairy milk
1/4 cup frozen cranberries
2 teaspoons sugar (I used brown sugar)
1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
1/4 teaspoon pumpkin pie spice
zest and juice of one clementine
1 tablespoon finely chopped walnuts or slivered almonds

Combine all ingredients except the nuts in a small pot and bring to boil stirring constantly.  Reduce heat and continue to stir 1-2 minutes until the oats thicken.  Smash cranberries with a spoon against the side of the pot so the juice bursts into the oatmeal.  Serve topped with chopped nuts.

IMG_5887

For lunch, I had salad or leftover Indian Buffet (Happy Herbivore Chickpea Tikka Masala, Roasted Curry Lemon Cauliflower, and brown rice).

Dinners early in the week included Indian Buffet or leftover Pistachio-Crusted Eggplant.  Later in the week I had Isa Does It Dilly Stew with Rosemary Dumplings.

IMG_5183

I also satisfied a craving for pizza.  I had come across a recipe for cauliflower pizza crust on Pinterest and was intrigued but honestly not expecting much.  I had only roasted half a head of cauliflower for the curried cauliflower early in the week so figured I’d give the pizza a go to use up the remainder; here is the recipe.  I only made the crust from this recipe and came up with my own toppings.   I used whole wheat pastry flour instead of chickpea flour and doubled the recipe, resulting in a crust that was about 7 inches round and 1/4 inch thick; as written it seems the crust would be very thin or the pizza very small.  I topped with homemade pizza sauce (halved recipe/left out the oil), spinach, peppers, red onion, and black olives.   The outcome was surprisingly delicious!  It is easier to eat with a fork but could be picked up.  I will definitely add this to the rotation as a healthier pizza option.

IMG_5882

The weather had me wanting to bake.  Early in the week I made Chai Breakfast Cake, which was delicious but went to waste after a couple of days since I enjoy baking more than eating baked goods (I typically prefer salty treats to sweet treats).  Thursday another 14+ inches of snow fell.

IMG_5220

Forks Over Knives Bursting with Berries Cobbler seemed the remedy to the winter blah; one of my favorite FoK recipes and I somehow still had blueberries frozen from my summer picking adventures.  I halved the recipe and made it individualized rather than in a baking dish.  This dish also holds up in the refrigerator so wastage is limited.

IMG_5215

IMG_5226The thing I find myself missing the most is bread and texture, crunch specifically.  While skimming my cookbooks trying to decide what to bake I saw Chili-Lime Corn Chips in the Happy Herbivore Cookbook.  Somehow I’d missed this recipe in my past perusing.  Chi-Chi’s corn tortillas are oil free and fairly easy to find; to make chips you simply cut them up and season with a mixture of chili and lime zest before baking.  Crunch cravings happily satisfied!

Now to push for 100% plant strong for the last two weeks!

3 thoughts on “Engine 2 Challenge: Week 2 Wrap-Up

  1. Pingback: Engine 2 Challenge: Week 4! | Dandelion Wishes

Leave a Reply

