Falafel Burgers

I’ve been wanting a good burger of late and thought I’d try a new one instead of my usual Happy Herbivore Quick Burgers.  I settled on the Falafel Burgers from Isa Does It thinking they’d satisfy the burger craving and also be good served on salad for lunches.

The recipe is simple but there are a few time factors to keep in mind…it is recommended to use dried chickpeas rather than canned as the canned beans are too soft for this recipe.  Not a big deal but requires some pre-planning.  Making beans in the Instant Pot (or any pressure cooker I suppose) saves a lot of time.  It took some experimenting to get it right but 1 cup of unsoaked beans cook for 30 minutes (plus the time to build and release pressure).  The second time consideration is a refrigeration step after preparing the base for your burgers.  Something I’d missed until I was already preparing but it gave me time to make the Miso-Tahini Dressing and Hummus that were suggested accompaniments.

The recipe has all the components you would expect from falafel.  Garlic, parsley and cilantro are pulsed in the food processor.

IMG_5892The chickpeas and spices are added and the mixture is refrigerated prior to forming into patties.

IMG_5895Miso-Tahini Dressing is simply garlic, miso and tahini thinned with water to a dressing consistency.  The hummus is standard fare other than the addition of some kalamata olives.  For the hummus, I used canned chickpeas and substituted water from the can for the olive oil to fit the Engine 2 Diet.

IMG_5904I even managed to find whole grain oil-free pita pockets in Wegmans!  I smeared the pita with hummus and topped the burger with a bit of the dressing, cucumber, tomato, and red onion.  Served with a small salad, a handful of homemade baked sweet potato fries and a scoop of hummus for dipping this was diner worthy fare.

IMG_5901I really enjoyed this burger.  It had all the flavors of falafel and turned into a burger I didn’t find myself missing the fried aspect.  I’ve tried making falafel baked in the oven and its never quite the same, but as a burger it was quite satisfying.  There is no flour or other binder  in this burger so it does not have a firm texture of a typical black bean burger; despite this, it holds together quite well.  The Tahini-Miso Dressing was a bit strong for my taste but I did enjoy a small amount – more as a condiment than a dressing.  I did however pile on plenty of hummus.  Leftovers were served with a salad dressed only with fresh lemon juice, black pepper and a generous scoop of hummus.

Isa Does It Recipes: 12

 

 

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “Falafel Burgers

  1. Pingback: Falafel Burgers | Dandelion Wishes | Vegan Coyote

  2. Pingback: Life After the Engine 2 Challenge | Dandelion Wishes

  3. Pingback: Bistro Beet Burgers | Dandelion Wishes

  4. Pingback: Olive Lentil Burgers | Dandelion Wishes

Leave a Reply

