Engine 2 Challenge: Week 3 Wrap-Up

Even though I’m not following the meal plan in the eBook when I started the Challenge I had printed out some of the recipes thinking I would give them a try.  I’d completely forgotten about them until I was cleaning up some of the papers lying around the dining room table and happened upon the stack of recipes.  Looking them over I decided to incorporate some of them into the last two weeks.

Monday I had off from work and French Toast from the eBook seemed a good treat to enjoy my late start to the day.  I’ve had difficulties finding oil-free breads but had bought some Ezekiel Cinnamon Raisin English Muffins that I’d yet to try so why not english muffin french toast.  I have fond memories of raisin bread french toast from my graduate school days eating at Angelo’s near the University of Michigan medical campus; it’s so good it still gets the homepage cover photo.  The base of the Engine 2 recipe is mashed banana and non-dairy milk with cinnamon and vanilla.  This certainly isn’t Angelo’s but it was very good and a whole lot healthier.

IMG_5905

For my on-the-go breakfasts, I made a batch of steel cut oats in the Instant Pot.  I decided to experiment with the basic recipe from Jill Nussinow by adding pumpkin puree and cranberries.  Recipe below:

1 cup non-dairy milk
2 cups water
1 cup steel cut oats
1/3 cup pumpkin puree
1/2 cup frozen cranberries
1 cinnamon stick
1 teaspoon vanilla
pumpkin pie spice

I cooked in the Instant Pot electric Pressure cooker for 3 minutes and let the pressure release naturally.  Split into three ~1 cup servings and top with brown sugar and chopped walnuts.  Made for a great grab-and-go breakfast to reheat in the microwave.

Lunches consisted of leftover falafel burgers and a salad dressed in fresh lemon juice and topped with a scoop of hummus.  The burgers were even better left over than when first made; the flavors developed more and the texture was firmer.  The whole wheat fat-free pitas I found at Wegmans were also a great success, really good! [Father Sam’s Fat Free Whole Wheat Pita Pockets; the mini size were just right for the burgers]

IMG_5896

I finished up the Dilly Stew for dinner early in the week, had a falafel burger the first night I’d made them, and Happy Herbivore Cheater Pad Thai later in the week.  I was running out of rice noodles so my Pad Thai was more veggie than noodle but always delicious.

IMG_5908Rounding out the week’s dinners I made Broccoli Rabe Penne from Forks Over Knives Cookbook (I only have an instagram pic of that one).

For a sweet treat, I went back to the Challenge e-book and made the Banana Peanut Butter Oat Cookies.  A very satisfying little snack and love the banana, peanut butter and chocolate combination.

IMG_5907

I also made a microwave baked apple courtesy of Fat Free Vegan.

IMG_5925

Overall Week 3 has been a great success in term of food.  However, fitbit doesn’t lie and I’ve dropped my average steps below 10,000 this week.  The goal for the final week of the Challenge is to get my average daily steps to at least 12000 and get back to daily 5k on the elliptical for a strong finish.

I almost forgot the exciting news!  I signed up to go to the Engine 2 Retreat in Portland this April.  I’m so excited.  Portland was on the bucket list and E2 had the retreats on sale so why not.  I can’t wait!!!

One thought on “Engine 2 Challenge: Week 3 Wrap-Up

  1. Pingback: Engine 2 Challenge: Week 4! | Dandelion Wishes

Leave a Reply

