Whole Food Plant Based Breakfast Tacos

The first week since the Engine 2 Challenge ended and I didn’t fall too far back into old habits.  There were a couple of moments where “it’s been so long since I’ve had x…I think I’ll indulge.  What I’ve found for the most part is that my tastes have changed and things simply don’t taste as I good as the memory seems.  Diet Coke is a good example.  I used to have one diet coke a day with my lunch.  I never considered this a healthy choice or even a better choice than the regular high fructose corn syrup version, but I preferred it to water.  Now, I don’t seem to find myself wanting it or enjoying the taste as I used to.  Unfortunately, I did still enjoy yesterday’s bagel but will limit that so it does not become a daily habit again.

Which finds me here today making my breakfasts for the week to take in to the office.  I made a breakfast hash last week mainly to use up what I had in the fridge; I enjoyed it so much I decided to make it again for this week.  I  had planned this week’s post to be the recipe for the rice pudding I’d made last weekend but it lost some of its creaminess after the first day;  while I play with making brown rice creamy here is the hash recipe.  You are encouraged to play with it and make it your own (have you ever seen Chopped?  They often seem to throw a hash appetizer together to use up the basket easily – it’s a forgiving dish).

IMG_5965For the Potatoes
2 small russet potatoes
1 teaspoon granulated garlic
1 teaspoon onion powder
fresh ground black pepper
a pinch of salt

For the Chickpeas
1 can garbanzo beans
1 Tablespoon soy sauce or tamari
Juice of 1/2 of a lemon
I follow the Happy Herbivore Chickpea Taco Recipe.  I also follow the link in that recipe and make a large batch of taco seasoning to keep on hand in a mason jar.

For the Hash
1/2 medium red onion, sliced thinly
1 pint mushrooms (I use baby bella, stems removed, sliced thinly)
1/2 – 1 pint grape tomatoes
2 cloves garlic, minced
1 bunch of dinosaur kale (or other greens), stems removed and sliced into 1/2 -1 inch pieces

To Serve
Green Onion
Cilantro
Cholula Chipotle Hot Sauce, or your preferred hot sauce
Corn Tortillas (Trader Joe’s Corn & Wheat Tortillas are oil free)

Preheat oven to 400 degrees.  Line a large cookie sheet with parchment paper.  Dice the potato into a small 1/2 inch dice.  Spray with cooking spray, toss with garlic, onion, fresh ground pepper and a dash of salt.  Place a single layer on the prepared cookie sheet.  For the chickpeas, I use the same bowl that I had prepared the potatoes in to toss the chickpea taco ingredients.  I tend to layer on the same cookie sheet as the potatoes to save myself from dishes (though keep them separate in case the potatoes need longer than the chickpeas it is easy to just put them back in the oven). Bake for 25-30 minutes.

IMG_5967Meanwhile, prepare the remaining ingredients. Sauté the red onion over medium-high heat in a large pot, until translucent 5-7 minutes.  Add splashes of water to keep from sticking to the pan.  I use my Dutch Oven so there’s plenty of room to add everything in at the end.

IMG_5970Add the mushrooms and tomatoes and continue cooking until they release their juices, approximately 5 minutes.  Add the garlic and cook another 30 seconds until fragrant.

IMG_5971Add the kale, toss, cover and remove from heat.  The kale should steam in 1-2 minutes but retain it’s vibrant color.  Once the potatoes and chickpeas are done add them to the pot and toss again.

IMG_5975I’ve been enjoying this as breakfast tacos (sadly, I cannot find burrito sized oil-free tortillas), topped with green onion and cilantro with plenty of hot sauce.  I don’t have a pretty assembled picture since I was packing up to go, but here is the meal prep madness version.  As written this makes 6, 1-cup servings, which I find to be a pretty satisfying breakfast.

IMG_5977

One thought on “Whole Food Plant Based Breakfast Tacos

  1. Pingback: Life After the Engine 2 Challenge | Dandelion Wishes

Leave a Reply

