Rice Pudding Reinvented

There’s something comforting about the smell of cinnamon and vanilla that permeates the house as rice pudding cooks stovetop on a cold, gloomy day.  My Mother’s rice pudding used regular milk, white rice and had egg folded in at the end to add creaminess; it wasn’t something we had often but when we did it always seemed a treat.  It took a few attempts to achieve the creamy texture of my childhood dessert with brown rice and non-dairy milk but I’ve created a whole food plant based version that I’m quite pleased with.

2 1/4 + 3/4 soy milk, divided
1, 13.5 ounce can lite coconut milk
1 cup brown rice
1 cinnamon stick
1 teaspoon vanilla
1 tablespoon chia seeds
1/2 tablespoon pumpkin pie spice
1/2 cup raisins
1/4 cup maple syrup

  1. Add brown rice, 2-1/4 cups soy milk, lite coconut milk, cinnamon stick, and vanilla to a 3 QT pot
  2. Bring to boil, cover and reduce heat to low
  3. Simmer for 45 minutes, stirring occasionally and mindful that the pot doesn’t boil over
  4. Turn off heat.  Remove the cinnamon stick
  5. Stir in the remaining 3/4 cup of soy milk, pumpkin pie spice, raisins, and chia seeds
  6. Let sit ~ 15 minutes, stirring occasionally until the dish becomes creamy
  7. Fold in the maple syrup, taste for sweetness
  8. Transfer to serving dish and sprinkle with additional pumpkin pie spice

IMG_6035You can either serve warm or put in the refrigerator to chill and serve cold.

IMG_6044I’d attempted various non-dairy milks and soy milk seems to provide the creamiest texture.  Chia seeds also add to the texture, as they function as a thickener when added to liquid.  Alternatively, banana or pumpkin puree may serve to maintain the creaminess of the pudding but would alter the flavor.

2 thoughts on “Rice Pudding Reinvented

  1. I made this last night when I was fancying some pudding, and I’m going to finish it off this morning. It’s *very* good! And really nice and creamy! I just used all soy milk as I had no coconut, flax instead of chia (no chia) and cranberries instead of raisins – and it was perfect. Just curious, where did you get the idea to add extra cold milk at the end? What’s the reason behind that? Great pud will be making again.

    • Thanks so much! Cranberries sound delicious, I have these nice, plump cranberries from Trader Joe’s I’ll have to try next time. The milk at the end was really just because it did not seem quite creamy enough when the rice was done so I thought some more milk and chia seeds might get me to the texture I was hoping for.

Leave a Reply

