Curry Roasted Chickpeas and Cauliflower with Parsley-Cilantro Chutney

I absolutely love roasted cauliflower; particularly Indian spiced roasted cauliflower.  It is the only preparation of cauliflower I like enough to crave other than cauliflower crust pizza.  Since the cauliflower crust pizza uses such a small amount of cauliflower for a single serve crust, I usually end up roasting the remaining head of cauliflower after I’ve made a pizza or two.  At least until I master batch prep of the pizza crust (in testing, stay tuned).  The only problem with my roasted cauliflower over couscous lunches is that it is not very filling and I find myself hungry too soon after eating.  This week’s recipes were an attempt to remedy this by making a more substantial dish inspired by my old stand by.

I took inspiration from the Happy Herbivore Chickpea Tacos, which is a commonly made to-to dish for me.  The recipe is basically roasted chickpeas in a homemade taco seasoning.  I took this concept and tried to come up with a flavorful way to roast the chickpeas that would marry nicely with the cauliflower and create a more complete, substantial dish.

My basic roasted curry cauliflower recipe is inspired by a pinterest find, Roasted Curry and Lemon Cauliflower.  I’ve made some variations over time to omit the oil and spice it up a bit.

Roasted Curry Cauliflower

1 small head cauliflower (or in my case, 1 head less the 1 cup needed for pizza crust)
Juice of 1 lemon
1 tablespoon curry powder
1 teaspoon garlic powder
1/2 teaspoon tumeric
1/4 teaspoon cayenne pepper (or more to taste)

Roast at 400 degrees for 30 minutes.

For the chickpeas, I took the same basic concept but added 1 tablespoon of tahini so the mixture would coat the chickpeas better.  The spice mixture is almost a paste with the addition of the tahini.

IMG_6085

This coats the chickpeas very well.

IMG_6086Roasted Curry Chickpeas

Juice of 1/2 lemon
1 tablespoon tahini
1 tablespoon curry powder
1 teaspoon garlic powder
1/2 teaspoon tumeric
1/4 teaspoon cayenne pepper
1, 15 oz can of garbanzo beans, drained and rinsed

Roast at 400 degrees for 25 minutes.  The chickpeas take slightly less time than the cauliflower but you could probably separate the florets smaller and just roast them together.  I did the chickpeas first and by the time I finished breaking down the cauliflower and getting the spices mixed in the chickpeas were done.

I served over a grain mix I’d discovered at Trader Joe’s.

IMG_6087I made 5 servings of the grain per package instructions and added 1/2 cup of peas towards the end of cooking time.  I had parsley to use up so I decided to make a chutney to add interest to the grain.  I added the majority of the chutney directly to the cooked grains, reserving a small bit for plating.  Of course, I forgot to take a post chutney addition picture but here are the cooked grains prior to adding the chutney.

IMG_6088

Parsley-Cilantro Chutney

1 small bunch fresh parsley
1 small bunch cilantro
1 fresh jalapeño pepper, seeds removed and coarsely chopped
2 cloves of garlic, coarsely chopped
1/4 cup toasted pine nuts
Juice of 1 lemon
1/4 cup of water

Pulse all ingredients in a food processor, reserve about 1/4 cup of the chutney for serving and mix the remainder into the cooked grain.

To plate, I placed the grain in a dish, topped with the cauliflower then the chickpeas so the chickpeas would keep their texture.  I topped with some additional fresh cilantro and served with a spoonful of the reserved chutney.

IMG_6093

The dish was everything I hoped. The chickpeas have a nice firm texture from roasting with the curry spices.

IMG_6095The chutney adds a lot of dimension and freshness to the dish.  The dish makes 5 servings and provides an excellent lunch.

IMG_6090

Leave a Reply

