Roasted (Grilled) Vegetable Romesco Sandwiches

Olive-Lentil Burgers weren’t the only thing I made last week.  I was looking for a simple lunch to last the work-week and decided to grill a batch of veggies for sandwiches and salads.  While flipping through the handheld section of Isa Does It for a burger to try I saw the Roasted Vegetable Romesco Sandwiches.  The recipe called for zucchini and cauliflower roasted in the oven, but I chose to grill rather than roast and picked an assortment of zucchini, squash, eggplant, asparagus, red onion and bell peppers.

IMG_6164My grill is on the small side so I work in batches.

IMG_6165The veggies only take about four minutes per side so you can prepare quite a large quantity of food fairly quickly.

IMG_6166

I prepared the romesco spread between grill runs.  Romesco is a nut and roasted red pepper based sauce.  In this version toasted sliced almonds, garlic and roasted red peppers are processed with paprika.  The spread, along with a hefty handful of fresh basil, amped up the flavor of my grilled vegetable sandwich.

IMG_6168It also paired wonderfully with my Olive-Lentil Burgers!

Isa Does It Recipes: 18

 

Leave a Reply

