Carrot Cake Pancakes

The 4th of July holiday weekend is sadly coming to a close, but it was a beautiful, relaxing long weekend and I’ll enjoy the last few hours of it for sure.  Carrot Cake may not be the image you conjure when thinking 4th of July, but I’d been eyeing this Isa Does It recipe for Carrot Cake Pancakes for quite some time and finally managed to treat myself to a special breakfast for the holiday.  This recipe is more involved than I typically partake before coffee, and breakfast for dinner is more of a fall/winter craving for me so I’ve just drooled over the pretty picture since acquiring the cookbook.  Really, it’s not involved at all.  Beyond your typical pancake recipe all you have to do is grate carrots…I should probably not admit that I have a food processor to do this extra step for me.  Nor should I acknowledge that I grated the carrots the night before so the only machine I had to work in the morning was the coffee pot.

IMG_6360

But I digress.  Pancakes are remarkably easy to make dairy-free with limited fuss and without sacrificing flavor or texture.  This recipe is a pretty basic pancake batter made special by the addition of the grated carrot, a little extra sweetness from maple syrup, and a bit of spice from cinnamon, ginger, nutmeg and allspice.  They cook up nicely and simply (which is good for my disoriented morning self).

IMG_6366

I added pecans to the batter for a textural element and loved the addition.  This is a substantial breakfast; the pancakes are a bit dense, almost reminiscent of a quick bread, and sweet.  The sweetness is balanced by the warm spices, which do leave you thinking fondly of carrot cake.  I think I will prefer these as a fall dinner personally, but they’ll definitely be made again.

IMG_6368

Isa Does It Recipes: 19

 

6 thoughts on “Carrot Cake Pancakes

Leave a Reply

