Dragon Noodle Salad

The salads chapter of Isa Does It has been neglected, but I’ve become bored with lunches of late and went back to Chapter 2 for some ideas to get me through the summer slump.  As I am writing this review of my 20th Isa Does It recipe of 2014 I realize there is something I’ve neglected to mention about this spectacular cookbook, Isa!  This is a cookbook that is actually entertaining to read, not to mention beautifully designed.  Isa’s style of writing is unique and conversational; you can check out her style on her Post Punk Kitchen blog.

The Salads Chapter of Isa Does It has an intro that declares don’t roll your eyes at salad and let’s make this the salad-for-dinner decade!  I’ve already proclaimed my love of Briny Caesar Dressing, but rarely have salad as dinner unless it’s a hearty burrito bowl.  That said, the Dragon Noodle Salad is a satisfying salad that doesn’t leave you wanting anything except maybe more salad.

IMG_6369

It’s also a simple dish with limited need to chop or prep.  The recipe calls for rice noodles with cucumbers and radishes in a peanut dressing served over a bed of greens.  I added some peppers because the Thai flavors seemed to beg for them; I also added chopped peanuts and scallions for garnish.  The peanut butter is the immediate flavor of the dressing, but garlic, rice vinegar, sesame oil and sriracha provide balance as you continue to eat the dish.  I found it not overly spicy (I love a good spicy dish), and added more sriracha to leftovers.  I also topped with spiralized zucchini because it’s summer and there are local zucchini to be eaten (and it’s pretty).

IMG_6372

This was a great dish to break the summer slump.  I had some issues with the noodles sticking together in the leftovers but I may have overcooked them.  There is a similar recipe on Isa’s blog; Zucchini Noodles with Peanut Sauce (seems to sub ginger for garlic – I say just use both!).

Isa Does It Recipes: 20

Leave a Reply

