Variety is the Spice of Life

There were no new recipes this week but I was a food prep master last weekend cooking up some old favorites with a twist so I thought I’d share some of the variations.

For breakfasts I went with what may be my favorite recipe from Isa Does It, scrambled chickpeas.  The recipe itself is one of the most simplistic in the cookbook, but as someone who can’t seem to like tofu the realization that smashed chickpeas make for an awesome breakfast has gotten me one step closer to letting go of eggs – the one cheat that has been difficult for me to find a suitable replacement.  I made a potato hash with a Southwest flavor profile to accompany the scramble.  For the hash, I used sweet potatoes that had been tossed in cajun seasoning and roasted, onion, a variety of bell peppers, and jalapeño for spice.  I changed up the scramble by substituting lime and cilantro for the lemon and dill in the recipe.   Topped with scallion, cilantro, and some chipotle hot sauce and this made for a very satisfying breakfast.  The components also work well in breakfast burritos.

IMG_6390

I could not decide between potato leek soup and corn chowder for lunches so I had both by adding corn to potato leek soup.  I made Isa Does It potato leek soup and modified it quite simply by adding a jalapeño (seeds and all) early in the cooking process, and corn (I used frozen that I had on hand) at the very end of the cooking process.  The additions made for an excellent variation of the original; the jalapeño added subtle spice that didn’t overpower the rich soup, while the corn added texture and sweetness.

To go with my soup I made a Citrus Kale Salad.  Perhaps I was dreaming of my favorite season last weekend as Tuscan kale, red onion, grape tomatoes, dried cranberries, walnuts, and orange slices may be more of a Fall salad.  I prepared a citrus dressing by juicing an orange, lemon, and lime, adding a touch of agave, red wine vinegar and chili powder.  The salad was a nice variation of my usual side salads and the hearty kale held up well leftover.

IMG_6392

Dinner was Roasted Red Pepper Mac, also from Isa Does It.  I’ve made this dish a few times already.  I had fresh broccoli to use up so I roasted the broccoli in the oven and stirred it into the mac before serving.  This is a variation that will likely become the standard.  I love the added flavor and texture that the roasted broccoli adds to the pasta dish.  I served with a salad dressed with briny Caesar dressing.

IMG_6396

These old favorites with a twist made for a delicious week!

One thought on “Variety is the Spice of Life

  1. Pingback: Making It Work | Dandelion Wishes

Leave a Reply

